nasen appoints National Director for Whole School SEND

News - 06 Jun 2018

nasen is delighted to announce the appointment of Anne Heavey as the National Director for Whole School SEND.

Anne, who has experience of multi-output contract management, a background in teaching and joins nasen from her current role as Senior SEND Policy Advisor for the National Education Union, will have direct leadership responsibility for the £3.4m SEND Schools Workforce contract recently awarded by DfE to nasen in a bid to support the workforce in SEND.

Anne will be supported in her role by two National SEND Leaders, Simon Knight and Malcolm Reeve, both of whom have significant experience of school leadership and SEND and have been supporting the work for Whole School SEND since its inception in 2016. 

The project will build on existing work undertaken by the Whole School SEND Consortium to train over 500 practitioners in the use of the SEND Review and will see a number of school improvements and specialist organisations come together to build on an existing community of practice of more than 4000 schools, which aims to reach at least 10,000 schools over the next two years through the creation of eight school-led regional hubs across England. The hubs will work to bring together local SEND networks to support school improvement within their region.

We can announce today that 13 of the 16 regional SEND leadership appointments (2 per hub) have been made and are as follows:




Hugh Steele


The Dales School, Blyth

Angela Holdsworth

Lancashire and West Yorkshire

Tor View Specialist Learning Community, Lancashire

Lidia Cattrell

Lancashire and West Yorkshire

Crosshill Special School with Blackburn Central High School, Lancashire

Judith Smith

East Mids and Humber

Talbot Specialist School, Sheffield

Jane Starbuck

East Mids and Humber

Newark Academy, Nottinghamshire

Nicola Davis

West Midlands

The Bridge Special School, Telford

Amanda Wright

West Midlands

Thomas Jolyffe Primary School, Warwickshire

Katherine Walsh

South Central England and North West London

Brookfield Primary School, London

Deborah Lamont

East England and North East London

Thrive Partnership Academy Trust, Essex

Jackie Partridge

South East England and South London

Springwell School, Southampton

Amelie Thompson

South East England and South London

Gipsy Hill Federation, London

Erica Wolstenholme

South West

Olympus Academy Trust, Bristol

Samantha Gilronan

South West

Lampard Community School, Devon

Talking more about the appointments made, Dr Adam Boddison, nasen’s Chief Executive said, “There was a rigorous selection process for both the national and regional posts and we now have a strong team in place to deliver the ambitions of the SEND Schools Workforce contract.  Each of the eight Regional School Commissioner areas will have a SEND Leader and Deputy SEND Leader who will be working in partnership to join the dots of existing provision.  I am particularly delighted to welcome Anne Heavey as the National Director as she has long been a force for good in ensuring there is quality SEND provision across our school system”.


Related resources

  • What is...DME?

    08 May 2019 Silver AND Gold Member Only

    What is…DME? is a short information document that summarises some key ideas related to Dual and Multiple Exceptionality.

  • National SEND update

    Information - 18 Apr 2019 Gold Member Only

    A useful presentation that will look at current SEND policy and statistics.

  • Training opportunities

    Information - 18 Apr 2019 Silver AND Gold Member Only

    The last six months have seen training for SENCOs move away from a centralised model, but how will the quality of the national award be preserved and protected? Michele Moore has the answer