Everyone's a winner at the nasen Awards 2017

News - 23 Oct 2017

nasen awards 2017

Thursday 19th October saw nasen host a special awards ceremony at the Museum of London in celebration of the charities 25th anniversary.

The evening, which was hosted by comedian Lucy Porter, saw nearly 200 guests come together in order to recognise and celebrate the fantastic work of those who make a real difference to children and young people with SEND. 
Chief Executive of nasen, Dr Adam Boddison said: “It’s an honour that we as a charity are able to bring together a host of people from across the SEND sector in order to celebrate and reward some of the most inspirational work that has taken place over the last 25 years. 
It gives us the opportunity to say thank you to those people who make a real difference to the lives of children and young people with SEND and who dedicate their time to helping them fulfil their potential. 
It was great to be able to reward schools, settings, organisations and individuals for their hard work and continued support to SEND”. 
This year’s winners were as follows:
  • Excellent Practice in Early Years - Harrington Nursery School
  • Excellent Practice in Further Education - Heart of Worcestershire College, Inclusive Learning & Base Resources
  • Excellent Practice in Primary Schools - St Aidan’s C of E Primary School
  • Excellent Practice in Secondary Schools – PACA, Secondary Speech & Language Screening Initiative
  • Excellent Practice in Special Schools - Camberwell Park School, Outreach Service
  • Exceptional Parental Engagement - Aspire Federation
  • Technology - Victoria Education Centre
  • Effective Collaborative Working - Kilgarth School, The Aspire Project
  • Young Person/Youth Achievement - Mair Elliot
  • Inspiring Publication - Positive Looking: Development of Visual Skills Programme 
  • Inspirational Teacher - Tania Brooks
  • Inspirational Leader - Darryl Morgan
  • Learning Support Staff - Karen Parkinson
  • Lifetime Achievement - Jenny Gridley

Related resources