nasen Awards 2017

Do you know someone who deserves recognition for their work in SEND? Then why not take the time to nominate them for a nasen 2017 award.

To mark our 25th Birthday in style, we are hosting our very own SEND awards ceremony this autumn.

Here at nasen we are committed to supporting thousands of SEND practitioners, enabling them to meet all pupils’ needs and help them to reach their full potential.

Therefore, we are delighted to have the opportunity to recognise and reward those people whose actions can make a real difference to people’s lives.

Those shortlisted for an award, will be invited to the ceremony which is due to take place on the 19th October at the Museum of London.

Please note that these awards are open to ALL settings, including mainstream, special and alternative provision.

Inclusion is at the heart of what nasen is and what it works towards.  This is reflected in the upcoming nasen Awards, our hope for which is that practice in all types of settings will be exemplified, whether they be mainstream or special. For this reason, we have not created separate categories for special schools when it comes to the impact they are having on their own children and young people. The special school specific category reflects the vital role of this this sector in widening impact through effective outreach.  

Self-nominations are invited as well as nominations made on behalf of individuals/organisations.

For more information about the event, please e-mail

There are 16 awards up for grabs, and you can nominate as many people as you like in the following categories:

1.    Excellent practice in Early Years Award

2.    Excellent practice in Further Education

3.    Excellent Practice in Primary School Award

4.    Excellent practice in SpecialSchool Award

5.    Excellent practice in Secondary School Award

6.    Exceptional parental engagement Award

7.    Technology Award

8.    Effective Collaborative Working Award

9.    Employer of the Year Award

10.    Young person/Youth achievement Award

11. Inspiring Publication Award

12. Inspirational Teacher Award

13. Inspirational Leader Award

14. Learning Support Staff Award

15. Governor of the Year Award

16. Lifetime Achievement Award

Please note that the application for all nominations will close on Friday 30th June 2017